Got the prompt from Writer's Digest

You've just had one of the most grueling days of your life when you stumble upon a wishing well. While you don't typically believe in such things, you need a pick-me-up. So you toss a penny down the well and make a wish. Lo and behold, it comes true.

A whising well, huh? Never believed in those things. Well, that's a lie, I used to believe in them when I was a kid. But, when I never got that kitten I always wished for, I stopped believing in them. A wise move from me.
But there I was, standing in front of a small well with an old sign that said "The Wishing Well - throw a penny and your wish will come true". I put my hand in my pocket and felt all the extra pennies in it. What harm could it do if I tossed a penny down? Maybe some old homeless guy swam all the pennies from the bottom every night. I could do a favor for someone.
I picked a coin. Just a small coin. I walked to the well and dropped it, it broke the surface and then slowly sank to the bottom. I closed my eyes and made a wish in my head, even though it felt quite silly. But who knew, maybe it would work?

I opened my eyes in the morning. Something felt different. Had I slept in a bad position? I got up. Everything seemed to be fine. Was I thinner? I looked like I was. But that was not what I hoped for. Maybe I was just imagining stuff, I had been eating a lot vegetables lately. I got dressed, but all of my clothes seemed to be draping on me. Maybe I did lose some weight.
I walked downstairs to get my mail. It was the usual, bils, bils, bils, ads, bils and... a yellowish white letter? Was that for me, no one ever wrote me. I looked at the address, which was pointed for me. It was written with something that was smudged in the postman's bag. Ink? Who used ink these days? I turned the letter around, ready to open it. The letter was sealed with something, but I couldn't quite understand what it was. I opened the letter and found a longish letter in there, written with the same black ink.

After I read the letter, I realized my dream had really come true. Now it was all clear, why I felt thinner and the clothes felt too big; I was eleven years old. I got a letter from Hogwarts. I was accepted in. Finally, my dream to escape from the real, harsh world was gone and I could live the life I loved.